Humboldt University of Berlin

    Humboldt University of Berlin
    Established on: 1810

    The German public research university Humboldt University of Berlin, also known as HU Berlin or Humboldt-Universität Zu Berlin, is located in Berlin's Mitte neighborhood.

    Humboldt University of Berlin (Universität zu Berlin), the oldest of Berlin's four universities, was founded by Frederick William III in 1809 on the endeavor of Johann Gottlieb Fichte, Wilhelm von Humboldt, and Friedrich Ernst Daniel Schleiermacher. It was known as Friedrich Wilhelm University (German: Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität) from 1828 until its closure in 1945. The Prinz-Heinrich-Palais on Unter den Linden Boulevard in Berlin's historic center serves as the university's main building.

    The Humboldt University of Berlin has nine faculties, including a joint medical school with the Free University of Berlin. With about 32,000 students enrolled, the university offers degree programs from the undergraduate to post-doctoral levels in about 189 disciplines. The heart of Berlin, on the Unter den Linden boulevard, is where its main campus is situated. The institution is renowned worldwide for developing the Humboldtian model of higher learning, which has significantly impacted other universities in Europe and the West.

    During the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, Humboldt University of Berlin was regarded as the world's preeminent university for natural sciences, as its professors, such as Albert Einstein, were associated with breakthroughs in physics and other sciences. Past and current faculty and prominent alums include 57 Nobel laureates (most of any German university). Along with notable philosophers, sociologists, lawyers, politicians, mathematicians, scientists, artists, and heads of state; among them are Albert Einstein, Hermann von Helmholtz, Emil du Bois-Reymond, Robert Koch, Theodor Mommsen, Karl Marx, Friedrich Engels, Otto von Bismarck, W. E. B. Du Bois, Angela Davis, Arthur Schopenhauer, Georg Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel, Walter Benjamin, Max Weber, Georg Simmel.

    The faculty at the Humboldt University of Berlin is very accomplished and knowledgeable. The faculty team also includes experts and researchers in related fields. Along with a solid foundation in traditional subjects like science, law, philosophy, history, theology, and the like, the university expanded to include a wide range of new scientific specialties. William Humboldt's brother Alexander von Humboldt promoted the new knowledge. The second half of the 19th century saw the construction of cutting-edge research facilities, which helped teach the natural sciences. The nine faculties into which the university is divided are

    • Faculty of Arts and Humanities
    • Faculty of Language, Literature, and Humanities
    • Faculty of Economics and Business Administration
    • Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
    • Faculty of Law
    • Faculty of Life Sciences
    • Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences
    • Faculty of Theology
    • Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin

    University Highlights 

    University Type

    Private Institution

    Established Year

    1810 AD



    Number of Courses

    9 Faculties

    Tuition Fees

    1031 USD per year


    October and April 

    Main Intakes

    The Humboldt University of Berlin's main intake occurs in October as a winter semester intake and in April as a summer semester intake.


    At the Humboldt University of Berlin, numerous initiatives and trusts support students financially and intellectually.

    The study-assistance programs and foundations in the following table are just a sample of the scholarships that may be available.

    • Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst (DAAD)
    • Stipendiumplus (Begabtenförderung in Hochschulbereich)
    • MyStipendium
    • Das Online-Stipendium und Karrierenetzwerk (e-fellows)
    • Bundesverband Deutscher Stiftungen

    Application Process

    Eligibility for Masters or Ph.D. Courses

    Admission to a master's or Ph.D. program requires completing a bachelor's degree or equivalent. A separate list for each degree program is offered internationally and in English.

    Students will then be required to submit thorough summaries of their application and prior academic performance. The faculty will choose which semester you can continue your studies and whether to recognize your accomplishments.

    Eligibility for Bachelor's degrees

    Candidates may apply to study at the Humboldt University of Berlin if the students have completed secondary education. In the case of foreign applicants, they should be successful in their country's examination.

    Documents required:

    • Official or Citified copies of High School Transcripts
    • Educational History Form 
    • Scholastic Aptitude Tests (SAT/ACT) are accepted.
    • English Language proficiency test score
    • Motivation Statement
    • Recommendation letter (optional/upon request)


    What are the different intakes at the Humboldt University of Berlin?

    Humboldt University of Berlin's main intake occurs in October as a winter semester and in April as a summer semester.

    Where is the Humboldt University of Berlin?

    The Humboldt University of Berlin is located in Unter den Linden 6, 10117 Berlin, Germany. 

    What are the courses available at the Humboldt University of Berlin?

    The Humboldt University of Berlin offers various degrees in Science, Engineering, Humanities & Social Science, Medicine, and Business and Economics under nine main faculties.

    Does the Humboldt University of Berlin offer any accommodation?

    Students, researchers, and Ph.D. candidates can rent furnished rooms and apartments at the Humboldt University of Berlin. The services offered are accomplished by a learning lounge, a gym, club rooms, and a nursery. Bed linens, towels, and weekly cleaning are included in the approximate 480 euro price (including electricity and Internet).



    Featured Institutes

    No Data