University of Munster

    University of Munster
    World Rank: 219th by Best Global Universities
    Established on: 1780

    Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster, also known as the University of Munster, is a public research university in the German state of North Rhine-Westphalia.

    The University of Munster is the fifth-largest university in Germany and one of the critical hubs of German intellectual life, with more than 43,000 students and more than 120 fields of study offered across 15 departments. The university provides a huge selection of courses in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Ph.D. programs and postgraduate courses in geoinformatics, geospatial technologies, and information systems are among the courses that are also taught in English.

    The University of Munster originates in the lay sisters' convent Liebfrauen-Überwasser, founded in 1040, and the Jesuit College Münster (Jesuiten-Kolleg Münster), founded in 1588. To use the convent's funds to establish the University of Münster on April 16, 1780. It was disbanded in 1773.

    The Royal Theological and Philosophical Academy (Königliche Theologische und Philosophische Akademie), also known as Münster Academy (Akademie Münster), was the new name given to the institution in 1843. Emperor Wilhelm II gave the university its name on August 22, 1907. Franz Freiherr von Fürstenberg performed the constitutional ceremony.

    The University of Münster supports cutting-edge research in the natural and life sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Outstanding basic research and projects focused on applications can be found in these fields. The excellent research performance is highlighted by about 20 grants from the European Research Council (ERC - Starting, Consolidator, and Advanced) and six Max Planck Research Awards.

    The University of Münster is a member of the German U15 e.V., an alliance of fifteen top medical universities in Germany with a full range of disciplinary specializations but none of the defining engineering sciences.

    Münster is the third-best German university according to the size-independent ranking from Leiden University. Mathematics, chemistry, medicine, and business studies are vital. The University of Münster is the fourth-best German university for chemistry, per the Shanghai university ranking 46th best university for chemistry worldwide and 219 in Best Global Universities.

    The University of Münster is divided into 15 faculties, which serve as the institution's primary organizational divisions. The complete list of university faculty is given below:

    • Faculty of Protestant Theology
    • Faculty of Catholic Theology
    • Faculty of Law
    • School of Business and Economics
    • Faculty of Medicine
    • Faculty of Educational and Social Sciences
    • Faculty of Psychology/Sport and Exercise Sciences
    • Faculty of History and Philosophy
    • Faculty of Philology
    • Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science
    • Faculty of Physics
    • Faculty of Chemistry and Pharmacy
    • Faculty of Biology
    • Faculty of Geosciences
    • University of Music

    University Highlights 

    University Type

    Private Institution

    Established Year

    1780 AD



    Number of Courses

    15 faculties

    Tuition Fees

    € 316.03 per semester


    October and April 

    Main Intakes

    The main intake for programs provided at the University of Munster occurs in October as winter semester intake and in April as summer semester intake.


    Numerous German foundations offer scholarships to deserving students who work hard and achieve high academic standards. Some scholarship programs are only intended for students enrolled in specific degree programs or from certain nations.

    The recipient of a scholarship is typically required to complete his or her studies promptly and very well, to submit a yearly account of academic progress, and to attend seminars and workshops that the scholarship provider sponsors.

    Most scholarship programs provide funding to German students and those with equivalent legal status because most scholarships are primarily funded by public funds provided by the German government.

    The German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) offers scholarships to international and masters and doctoral students studying in all fields at German universities. Be aware that the DAAD typically only accepts applications from individuals who reside in those countries. The DAAD scholarship application process is no longer open to students who have resided in Germany for more than 15 months.

    Application Process

    Eligibility for Bachelor's degrees

    The candidates can apply to study at the Braunschweig University of Technology if

    • The students must have completed their secondary education.
    • If the candidate's home country has a university entrance examination, they must have passed it successfully.

    In some cases, the students may also require that you have completed the Studienkolleg foundation course in Germany or that you have studied at an academic institution in your home country.

    Eligibility for Masters’ Courses

    Students who have previously completed an identical or similar course of study may be eligible to apply for a higher semester.

    Students will then be required to submit detailed descriptions of their previous academic achievements and their application. The faculty will decide whether to recognize your achievements and which semester you can continue your studies.

    How to apply to the University of Munster

    • Registration
    • Online application
    • Admission
    • Apply for online enrolment and upload enrolment documents


    Where is the University of Munster?

    The University of Munster is located in Münster, Germany.

    What are the courses available at the University of Munster?

    The University of Munster offers the Faculty of Catholic Theology, Faculty of Law, School of Business and Economics, Faculty of Medicine, Faculty of Educational and Social Sciences, Faculty of Psychology/Sport and Exercise Sciences, Faculty of History and Philosophy, Faculty of Philology, Faculty of Mathematics, and Computer Science Faculty of Physics, Faculty of Chemistry and Pharmacy, Faculty of Biology, Faculty of Geosciences, and the University of Music.



    Featured Institutes

    No Data